Waltham St Lawrence Virtual Voices
'Their Sound Is Gone Out' - CD now available!

CD case


Music from a choir in lockdown
directed by Simon Shaw, organ Dr Camilla Jarnot

For the last year, choirs have not been able to meet and sing together.  So local singers from WSL, and friends from further afield, have been singing into mobile phones and computers - their recordings then being mixed together to create performances from a “virtual choir” – WSL Virtual Voices.

Now, a year on, a selection of the music has been put onto a CD which we are selling for charity.  The proceeds will be split equally between the Musicians Benevolent Fund and the local parish church – we hope to make about £1,500 from this effort.

We’ve included a specially-recorded Requiem Mass, since we intend the CD to cover the themes of Contemplation, Commemoration and Renewal – to think about all those who have lost their lives to this dratted virus, and to look forward to better times ahead.

We have ‘pressed’ a limited number of CDs, so if you would like a copy please don’t delay; order one now!

Simon Shaw
Music director – WSL Virtual Voices


“Their Sound Is Gone Out” is £10 per CD, with £1.50 P&P if they need to be sent by post.

  1. Please send an email to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. to order, giving
    - how many required, name and address, and whether to be posted or local drop-off (WSL & SR)
  2. Payment can be made by PayPal or Bank Transfer – details will be sent in response to your order.
  3. You should get your CD within a few days.

CD Contents


1. O nata lux - Tallis
2. O for a closer walk with God - Stanford
3. Evening Hymn - Balfour Gardiner        
4. The Lord is my shepherd - Goodall - solo Ellie Hyde
5. O for the wings of a dove - Mendelssohn - solo Victoria Wickins

Requiem Mass in E flat, Op.84 - Rheinberger
6. Introitus & Kyrie
7. Graduale
8. Offertorium
9. Sanctus
10. Benedictus
11. Agnus Dei
12. Communio

13.13. Justorum animae - Byrd
14. Ave verum corpus - Mozart
15. O sacrum convivium - Messiaen - Victoria, Julia, Simon, Alex
16. Greater love - Ireland


17. Rise up my love - Healey Willan
18. Jubilate deo in B flat - Stanford
19. A Gaelic Blessing - Rutter
20. This joyful Eastertide - Trad. arr. Wood
21. Now the green blade riseth - Trad. arr. Shaw
22. Their sound is gone out - from Messiah - Handel

One of our singers, Sarah Seymour, has done some beautiful artwork for the cover and the CD surface:

CD itself